Thursday, December 16, 2010

Simple Nativity

Another one done for my sister.

Sunday, December 12, 2010

A Right Jolly Old Elf

A quick painting for my sister.

Wednesday, December 08, 2010

King's Vineyard

This is another, much less digital, game I did some art for.  Designed by a few of my coworkers, Sandeep Karkhar and Dave Haslam, it features some clever mechanics.  Working with Mayday Games was great, this project was a little different from anything I've done before and they were very patient.  Ultimately I'm quite happy with the final product which you can find out more about here.

Tuesday, November 30, 2010

Epic Mickey

No, I did not paint this
I've spent the majority of this year working on a video game called Epic Mickey which is out today.  I worked on the environment art for a several levels but spent most of my time on a few of the boss fights.  In some ways it was a dream project for a Disney geek like me to recreate stuff from the movies and parks.  It was fun because the art, for some clever story reasons, was meant to be inspired by the Disney stuff but not exactly match it.  So I was able to help create (with the help of other talented artists both here in Salt Lake City and Austin, TX) a dark, twisted version of Hook's Jolly Roger and a Tron version of Space Mountain.

The game includes its own version of the Haunted Mansion (called the Lonesome Manor).  There was no way I was going to not work on that (Haunted Mansion is my favorite Disneyland ride), so I muscled my way into it where I could, ultimately helping to render the ballroom level and even do one of the long paintings for the stretching room. I also worked on an area modeled after New Orleans Square. It was a cool project and I'm excited to see it released,  It's exclusive to the Wii, you can see the trailer here.

Monday, November 22, 2010

Sunday, October 31, 2010

Friday, October 29, 2010

Saturday, October 09, 2010

Saturday, October 02, 2010

Thursday, September 23, 2010

Monday, September 20, 2010

She's Watching You

It's not too early to start Halloween posts, right?

Thursday, August 19, 2010

Nilbog! It's Goblin Spelled Backwards!

I couldn't pass up the opportunity to do some art from my favorite bad movie for the Avalanche blog topic: Troll.  Troll 2 is a must see!

Tuesday, July 20, 2010

Watercolor Fairy

No one's EVER painted a fairy with watercolors!

Monday, June 07, 2010

Vigorous Viking

Ever since I saw How to Train your Dragon (awesome!) I've been wanting to paint a viking and I finally found the time this weekend.

Friday, May 21, 2010

Bright Idea

An illustration I did for the May edition of the LDS children's magazine, The Friend.

Saturday, May 01, 2010

Redneck Bigfoot

A quick painting for my brother in law.  Sorry for the lack of updates lately, I've got a lot of things coming soon, promise!

Tuesday, April 06, 2010

Watercolor Weekend

I found some time over the weekend to do another painting using real paint. Revolutionary!

Tuesday, March 16, 2010

Happy God of War III Day!

I picked up my copy of the Ultimate Edition last night at midnight and played until 3 am. Between this and Final Fantasy XIII coming out last week I'm a very happy gamer. KRATOS!

Tuesday, February 16, 2010

Love, Love

A goofy cupid I painted for my wife for Valentine's day. Happily, she likes it.

Tuesday, January 19, 2010

What? Actual Paper? Real Paint?

I got an awesome set of Watercolor paints for Christmas (thanks in-laws!) which I finally used to paint something. It's been far too long since I've painted with anything other than digital paint and I had a lot of fun. I think this turned out moderately well and I'm excited to try more.